Map
Sign in
← Explore registry

Japan / Site

Fukushima Shirakawa Data Center

福島白河データセンター · 白河データセンター

OperationalPlanned

Operational modular campus in Shirakawa, Fukushima, Japan, with demand-led expansion. SoftBank succeeded IDC Frontier’s data-center business on 2026-04-01. An operator graphic reports 50 MW at maximum expansion across eight buildings, without identifying IT, facility or grid basis; current operational MW is unknown.

Last researched 2026-10-09Last verified Not independently verifiedPublished revision 1
Operator-published Fukushima Shirakawa data-center exterior; completed-property view. Capture date not disclosed.

Site / building photo

Operator-published Fukushima Shirakawa data-center exterior; completed-property view. Capture date not disclosed.

Published date unknown · Captured date unknown · Checked 2026-10-09

Research-selected property image; reviewer must confirm site identity, suitability and rights before publication.

www.idcf.jp · Source and attribution ↗
Image rights and date notes

Original operator-hosted image. Photographer and reuse license not disclosed; import requires rights review. Publication and capture dates were not independently established.

Site profile

Operator
SoftBank Corp.
Ownership
Unknown / not established
Business model / scale
Colocation / Unknown
Region / metro
Fukushima Prefecture / Unknown
City / locality
Shirakawa
Address
Unknown
Location
City established by operator sources; secondary records associate the first data center with 萱根日向1-2, but campus boundaries and a corroborated property point are unresolved.
Precision: unknown
Parent
Not assigned

Capacity evidence

Statements retain their dates, definitions and development scope. Do not add these rows together.

Claim / measurementScope and statusAs ofEvidence and accounting
50 MW
Unspecified power
Ultimate Fukushima Shirakawa campus expansion, eight buildings
Planned · cumulative
2026-10-09Reported claim ↗

Excluded from capacity totals. As-of is retrieval date of an undated live operator graphic. The figure is explicitly maximum-expansion capacity; power basis, delivery date and current energized capacity are undisclosed. Qualified >5 MW eligibility only; not current IT load.

Development timeline

  1. 2011-09-01 · actual_groundbreaking

    Initial campus groundbreaking

    Operator reports groundbreaking for the provisionally named Shin-Shirakawa data center.

    Supporting source ↗
  2. 2012-09 · actual_completion

    Building 1 and administration building completed

    Completion month reported retrospectively in the 2016 operator release; other industry reporting uses October 2012, requiring reconciliation.

    Supporting source ↗
  3. 2014-06 · actual_operation

    Building 2 began operation

    Operator distinguishes September 2013 construction completion from June 2014 operation.

    Supporting source ↗
  4. 2016-03 · actual_completion

    Building 3 initial phase completed

    Early-March completion reported for the first 200-rack phase.

    Supporting source ↗
  5. 2016-10 · planned_completion

    Building 4 completion target

    2016 release targeted late October completion; this target is not evidence of actual completion.

    Supporting source ↗
  6. 2018-04 · actual_completion

    First data center Building 5 completed

    Architect identifies this as the fifth addition and names Yahoo as building client.

    Supporting source ↗
  7. 2025-12-25 · announcement

    Business succession announced

    SoftBank announced absorption of IDC Frontier’s data-center business effective April 1, 2026.

    Supporting source ↗
  8. 2026-04-01 · actual_business_transfer

    Data-center business succeeded by SoftBank

    Current IDC Frontier facility page confirms the effective succession.

    Supporting source ↗

Disclosed specifications

Campus land area

Approximately 67,600 m²

Current undated operator page; historical 2016 disclosure reported approximately 45,000 m². Parcel changes are not documented here.

Source ↗

Historical receiving capability

25 MVA

2016 campus disclosure; apparent power must not be converted to MW without a supported power factor.

Source ↗

Historical buildings 1–4 racks

Approximately 1,920 racks

2016 combined specification includes planned Building 4; not a current operational rack inventory.

Source ↗

Building 5 floor area and capacity

11,212 m²; approximately 1,200 racks; four above-ground floors

Architect’s building-specific disclosure; not campus totals or evidence of current occupied racks.

Source ↗

Power resilience

Two special-high-voltage feeds, main/reserve arrangement; N+1 UPS; generators stated for 72 hours

SoftBank facility-page scope may reflect its legacy service configuration.

Source ↗

Cooling

Outside-air cooling with water/air cooling; N+1 redundancy

Configuration varies by building according to the operator brochure.

Source ↗

Network latency

Approximately 3.5 ms to Tokyo

Operator-reported service characteristic, not independently measured.

Source ↗

Public customer/building client

Yahoo! JAPAN / Yahoo Corporation

Historical architect and electricity-service disclosures; current tenant allocation is unknown.

Source ↗

Renewable electricity initiative

RE100-compliant effectively renewable supply from May 2021 to Yahoo’s Shirakawa data center

Uses tracked FIT non-fossil certificates; current campus-wide coverage is unestablished.

Source ↗

Public business inquiry

SoftBank data-center inquiry links on the official facility page

No inquiry submitted; no site-specific public contact verified.

Source ↗

Sources and references

Source attribution does not imply independent verification or permission to reuse images.

福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier ↗

Published Date unavailable · Retrieved 2026-10-09

Identifies the operating modular data center in Shirakawa, Fukushima; describes approximately 67,600 m² of campus land, cooling and connectivity, and confirms business succession effective April 1, 2026.

データセンター — IDC Frontier ↗

Published Date unavailable · Retrieved 2026-10-09

Graphic labels Fukushima Shirakawa at maximum expansion as eight buildings / 50 megawatts. The graphic does not define the power basis.

福島白河データセンター — SoftBank ↗

Published Date unavailable · Retrieved 2026-10-09

Offers floor/building rental; describes 600 racks per building and expansion to six buildings, plus redundant power and cooling. Its scope is not reconciled with IDC Frontier’s eight-building graphic.

データセンターサービス説明書 ↗

Published Date unavailable · Retrieved 2026-10-09

Shirakawa facility table describes main/reserve power feeds, generators and UPS, building-dependent water/air cooling, N+1 cooling, rack dimensions and security.

Property photo · www.idcf.jp ↗

Published Date unavailable · Retrieved 2026-10-09

Operator-published Fukushima Shirakawa data-center exterior; completed-property view. Capture date not disclosed. Original image: https://www.idcf.jp/service_shared/img/datacenter/location/shirakawa/img_photo_shirakawa.jpg

Profile field evidence

Name: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier

Aliases: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; 北九州データセンターと白河データセンターに新棟を増設

Kind: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; 福島白河第一データセンター5号棟 — Nihon Sekkei

Country: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; データセンター — SoftBank business services

Region: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier

City: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier

Operator: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; 完全子会社である株式会社IDCフロンティアとの吸収分割(簡易吸収分割)に関するお知らせ; データセンター — SoftBank business services

Business Model: 福島白河データセンター — SoftBank; データセンター — SoftBank business services

Statuses: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; データセンター — IDC Frontier

Summary: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; データセンター — IDC Frontier; 完全子会社である株式会社IDCフロンティアとの吸収分割(簡易吸収分割)に関するお知らせ

Location: 福島白河データセンター — IDC Frontier; 事業所排出情報 — T Watch greenhouse-gas database

Media: Property photo · www.idcf.jp

Stable identifier: 5d5e070c-b075-47e7-b91e-7ff6c7b193ea